So Often You Don’t Even Notice It

Continuing with The Blues Brothers theme from earlier today. There’s a scene at the beginning of the movie when Jake is fresh out of jail and Elwood takes him back to this tiny 2nd floor apartment right next to train tracks. Well that’s kinda what it looks like near where I live. The Blues Brothers was a Chicago movie, but big cities are similar in their ways of packing lots of people into densely populated spaces. I live about a block away from Broadway, not the Manhattan Broadway of tourists and musicals, the Brooklyn Broadway of 99 cent stores, Crown Fried Chicken, Church’s Chicken, Popeye’s Chicken, and the J Train. The J Train is underground in Manhattan and crosses the Williamsburg bridge and stays elevated above Broadway so it goes right by some apartments just like Jake and Elwood lived in until Carrie Fisher’s character blew up the building.

I almost had a chance to live in a few of these places where the train goes by so often you don’t even notice it. One I looked at was $650 for a room, sharing a bathroom and small kitchen with 5 others and no living room, so it was like being in a dorm. The best part was that it was located right above a fish market. I went there at night and the whole time I’m thinking, “Wow this place stinks.” I walk downstairs to leave and I see the closed Fish Market beneath the apartment that I had missed on the way in, No Thanks.

My place has had it’s share of issues from when I moved in, such as the messed up door lock and no hot water thing, but it’s getting better. I don’t have a window to the outside world, only a high window that you usually see in basements, that lets me get light in from the living room. But the good news is, two of the roommates are leaving and I’m getting a better room, one with more space, and a window that lets outside air in. And I’ll still be paying $500 which is definitely cheap in New York. Too bad for the guys that left, they didn’t stay in New York very long, but it’s my gain.

 

 

Leave a Reply

